The Writer’s Tag

I found this tag on the internet and decided to give it a go. Are tags till a thing? They better be or else I look like a real noob.

What do you write?

Novels. General/Women’s fiction I suppose, New Adult, Young Adult…and they always include a romance component. I like to mix it up. You can’t tie this girl down…to a genre.

What do you mostly write about?

I’ve never stuck to a genre, sometimes I like soppy, happy, cliche plot lines, sometimes I like disturbing, gritty tales about pretty girls. I’m better at the disturbing stuff. I do not want to look into what that tells me about myself.

What’s your favorite thing about writing?

Writing is sort of my ‘thing’ now. It’s something I’d like to think I’m somewhat good at and I like being somewhat good at something. But truthfully, it’s a replacement. My true love is acting, it’s the only thing I am naturally good at, I do not have to put much effort into it, it’s just something I’ve been able to do pretty well since I was a kid. But…I left that dream behind (for various reasons) and picked up writing. I am not a naturally brilliant writer but the work makes the reward that much sweeter. And so really, I like that it keeps my creativity alive, it’s given me another ‘thing’ and that has kept me sane.

What/Who inspired you to start/keep writing?

I started writing properly when I was thirteen (truly, I started my first novel at thirteen like the big nerd I am). I was in a friend group not unlike the Plastics from Mean Girls and I needed to write about it because I was too much of baby to break free.

I keep writing because I like telling stories and I like talking to myself about my books on trains and buses and long runs. That sounds odd. It’s not, I promise.

Who’s your favorite character you’ve made up?

Oh god, do not make me pick! That’s like asking me to pick a favourite child.

When did you start writing?

Thirteen. Don’t be fooled, I wasn’t any good at it. I thought ‘mean girls are mean and it makes everyone sad’ was an original plot line.

First story you wrote?

No clue. I was probably pretty little. I made my sister a book of short stories for Christmas when I was seven…that’s as early as I can remember.

Favorite story you wrote?

Pretty Girls Die First. It’s the novel I’m working on right now and it is almost done. Actually, it probably is finished, but I can’t stop prodding at it.

Do you have a writing schedule? Like, do you write every day or just when you feel like it?

Good god no. I write when I feel like it. Sometimes that is every day for three hours, sometimes that’s once a month for twenty minutes. I can’t write if I’m not in the mood.

Do you want to be published?

Heck yeah.

Leave a Reply

